GHSA adopts 30-second shot clock for hoops

GHSA adopts 30-second shot clock for hoops

WCHS Gators’ coach Kingston Clark not in favor of changing the game

The days of low-scoring games with a methodical Princeton-type offensive scheme will soon be a thing of the past.
Georgia became the first southern state to adopt a 30- second shot clock for high school basketball Tuesday, June 23 when the GHSA’s (Georgia High School Association) …

Homeowners should think homestead

Homeowners should think homestead

Ware BOE, city may cut millage

Staff Writer
Although the Ware County Tax Digest continues to grow in value and home assessments have increased, property owners won’t be paying more taxes this year if they’re on the homestead plan.
This year’s millage rate of 15.545 is anticipated to drop to 15.233 for just the county, according to Ware Tax Commissioner Roger Collins.

Gerald Lee McRae

WAYCROSS — On Friday, June 12, 2020, the heavens opened and a glowing light appeared as the Heavenly Father’s arms reached down and gently took Gerald Lee McRae by the hand. As Gerald drew his last breath on this earth, his Heavenly Father escorted him through Heavens’ Gates and he was joined once again with his late parents, Marvin and Alice McRae. Gerald was born December 23, 1960, in Seattle, Washington, but resided most of his life in Waycross. He was a 1978 graduate of Brunswick High School and later attended Savannah State College. He was retired from Georgia Pacific and then later retired in security with the Ware County Board of Education. He was a member of the New Mount Pleasant Baptist Church in Waycross. Gerald was a loving father, grandfather, brother, and friend to many. He will be truly missed by all who knew and loved him.

Michael Sean Simpson

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — Michael “Sean” Simpson, 47, of Knoxville, Tennessee, died on Saturday, June 20, 2020. He was born in Waycross to Clarence Howard Simpson and Susan Lairsey. He attended Ware County High School and Paul Anderson Youth Home. Sean had an affinity for cars and was naturally gifted at working on anything with an engine. He was an ASE Master Technician, earning numerous certifications and awards in the automotive repair industry. He worked as a machinist at CSX and as a long-haul truck driver for Swift. He loved watching college football, especially the University of Georgia Bulldogs.

Archie Reginald McEuen

WAYCROSS — Archie Reginald McEuen went home to be with his Lord on Monday, June 22, 2020. Born in Waycross, to Reginald Fraser McEuen and Agnes Tanner McEuen, he was the oldest of their four children. He attended Nahunta High School and graduated in the 11th grade. After graduation, he served four years in the United States Navy before attending Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College and, later, graduating from the University of Georgia’s School of Forestry. Fresh out of college, employed as a Georgia State Forester, tall, dark-haired and handsome, Archie met Elizabeth Conger on a blind date in late April 1961.